How To Push A Staging Site To Production

SkyStra
Jun 1, 2020

Staging sites are a great feature as they allow you to test themes, plugins, and other changes to your website before going live. 

Once you’re sure everything works properly on your staging website – it’s time to push those changes to your live site.

Here’s how you push a staging site to live or production.

WordPress Tools

Login to your AccountCenter Client Area, select your service, and click the WordPress Tools option under the Quick Shortcuts section:

WordPress Manager

This will take you directly to your WordPress Manager where you can push your staging website to production:

Options

Click the arrow icon on the right side of your staging WordPress application to expand options:

Push To Live

Finally, click the Push to Live button on the bottom to go to the next step:

You’ll get a Push To Live screen where you can click the Push to Live button to replace your current live website with the staging version, or you can click the Customize tab to change some settings:

Customize

If you click Customize, you’ll see some setting options you can choose from: 

Publish

Once you click the Push to Live button, the WordPress Manager will let you know that it’s working on pushing your staging website to the live website:

Clear Cache

If you’re not able to see the changes immediately, it’s very likely your website is cached. Go in and clear the cache on your caching plugin on your WordPress dashboard,

If you use the LiteSpeed cache plugin, head to your WordPress Dashboard -> LiteSpeed Cache section -> Manage option, and click on the Purge All button:

That’s it! You’ve pushed a staging site to production and replaced your old site with the new and improved version!

Remove Staging Installation

If you no longer need the staging website, make sure to remove it from the WordPress Manager so it doesn’t eat up your disk space.

Simply click the Remove button on the expanded view for your staging installation, to delete it:

You will see a screen asking if you want to remove the directory and the database with the user – make sure to select all options:

Click the Remove Installation button to finish the removal process. The system will notify you once the removal is completed and you’re all done!