How Skystra Takes Backups

SkyStra
May 23, 2020

Backups are a super important part of website management and are always in the ‘back’ of everyone’s’ minds when they should be front and center.

When you work on your site, it’s good to get into the habit of creating a backup of your data from time to time because as the saying goes – things happen! 

Important: If you’d like to recover your full account or WordPress website files – you can skip this article and go directly to our restore guide!

How Do We Take Backups?

We create a snapshot of your entire account once a day and store it in a remote location, depending on the geographical region.

For example, if your account is hosted on our Cloud instances in Virginia or South Carolina – your backups will be stored in California, and vice versa.

What Tools Do We Use For Our Backups?

There are two backup tools we’d like to familiarize you with, and they’re found on your cPanel dashboard –

Acronis Backup – this tool will show you the entire version history of the automated daily backups we take of your full account. You can also restore or download files, databases and emails from here.

Skystra Apps – this tool lets you create an on the spot backup and download of your WordPress website and files. You can also restore your WordPress files from here.

What’s the main difference between these tools?

Quite simply, think of it this way –

Acronis Backup = Full account version history & backups

Skystra Apps = On the spot WordPress file backups

Now let’s get into some instructions on how you can download backup files from either of these tools.

Instructions To Export a Full Account Backup on Acronis Backup

Login to your cPanel control panel. Click here for instructions on how to get to cPanel.

Next, click on Acronis Backup under the Files section:

You will then see a list of the available backups. This is essentially the version history of all the daily automated backups we take of your whole account that are stored for 14 days.

Click the date of the backup you want to view & export:

Next, click the Export the account button to create a full backup of your account:

You will then see a popup with available export options. Since we want to create a full account backup, don’t tick any boxes and click the Start export button only:

From this point, the export process starts, and the system will show you a notification that the full account backup export file is being created:

You can click the Operation log tab at the top of the page to monitor the progress of the export process:

Once the export is done, you will see a green Succeeded notification:

Then, you can download the full account backup export file to your computer by clicking on the Download button:

Once your backup file is downloaded to your own computer, it’s a good idea to remove it from your hosting account so it doesn’t eat away at your disk space.

To find your full account backup file and delete it, head back to cPanel and click on the File Manager under the Files section:

Once the File Manager tab opens, you will be able to find your full account backup under the restored_data folder:

Click the file to select it with your mouse, and then click the Delete button from the top menu bar to remove it from your account:

That’s it – you now have a download of your full account backup from the date you picked!

Now, let’s move to how you can create an on the spot backup of your WordPress files using Skystra Apps.

Instructions For A WordPress Files Backup On Skystra Apps

Login to your cPanel control panel. Click here for instructions on how to get to cPanel.

Once you’re in cPanel, scroll all the way to the bottom and click on the WordPress icon under the Skystra Apps section:

This will take you to Skystra Apps, on the main page, scroll down and find your website and then click on the little folder icon to create a backup of your website:

On the next page, click the button right below that says Backup Installation:

Your backup will be taken, give it a couple of seconds or up to a minute and then you’ll get a successful completion message:

On the successful completion message, click to return to the Backups page, where you can download your backup file:

Once you’ve downloaded the backup to your own computer or files, make sure to delete the backup by clicking the X so that your backup doesn’t take space on your account – leave that space for your website.

That’s a wrap!